Interesting facts from Hindu Scriptures: You Must Know

Reading Time: 4 minutes

Total views 1,511 , and 3 views today

In this article, I will tell you some facts about Hinduism. (Derived from The Great Hindu Scriptures)

What will you say if someone asks you what time are you living in?

You will say February 2022, right?

Well, according to Hindu Timeline:

We are in the current Brahma’s 51st Year — 1st Month — 1st day — 7th Manvantara — 28th Maha Yuga — Kali Yuga.


Brahma’s total life span is 100 years (not human’s 100 years) 50 years of the current Brahma have passed.

Brahma’s one day (Kalpa) has 14 Manvantaras.

1 Manvantara has 71 Chatur Yugas.

1 Chatur Yuga has 4 Yugas —Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dwapar Yuga, Kali Yuga.

1 Manvantara means 30,67,20,000 Human Years

1 Chatur Yuga means 43,20,000 years.

Current Kalpa is known as वाराह कल्प!(Varaha Kalpa)
Above information is taken from — Vishnu Purana.

According to the Skanda Purana, the current Brahma’s name is Shatanand.

Name of the previous 6 Brahmas are:

Image Source: Google


Chaturmukha will be the next (8th) Brahma.

What if someone says Devraj Indra is a title (not a person) and Indra changes after each Manvantara?

Well, it’s true.

सप्तर्षिगण(Saptarshigana), मनु(Manu), इंद्र(Indra), देवता (Devta)— these are the titles (posts).

In each Manvantara, along with Manu, appear seven rishis (सप्तर्षिगण), Devtas, and one Indra.

Let’s talk about the current 7th Manvantara.

– सुर्यपुत्र वैवस्वत(Suryputra Vaivasvat) is the current Manu.

– Adityas, Vasus, and Rudras are the current group of Devtas.

– पुरन्दर(Purandara) is the current Indra.

Image Source: Google

वसिष्ठ(Vasishtha) , कश्यप(Kashyapa), अत्रि(Atri), जगदग्नि(Jagdagni), गौतम(Gautama), विश्वामित्र(Vishwamitra) और भरद्वाज(Bharadwaj) — are the seven great sages (सप्तर्षि)

In the next (8th) Manvantara, Raja Bali will be Indra.

Ashwatthama will be one of the great seven sages (सप्तर्षि).

14 Manus of the current Kalpa:

1) स्वायम्भुव (Swayambhuva)
2) स्वारोचिष (Swarochish)
3) उत्तम (Uattama)
4) तामस (Tamasa)
5) रैवत (Raivata)
6) चाक्षुष (Chakshush)
7) वैवस्वत (Vaivaswata) (current Manu)
8) सावर्णि (Savarni)
9) दक्षसावर्णि (Dakshasavarni)
10) ब्रह्मसावर्णि (Brahmasavarni)
11) धर्मसावर्णि (Dharmasavarni)
12) रूद्रपुत्र सावर्णि (Rudraputrasavarni)
13) रूचि (Ruchi)
14) भौम (Bhaum)

व्यास(Vyasa) too is a title.

They divide Vedas into 4 parts in each Dwapar Yuga.

कृष्णद्वैपायन(Krishnadwaipayana) is the current (28th) Vyasa in the current Manvantara.

अश्वत्थामा(Ashwatthama) will be the next (29th) Vyasa.

When will Satya Yuga begin?

Vishnu Puran says ‘जिस समय चन्द्रमा, सूर्य और बृहस्पति पुष्यनक्षत्र में स्थित होकर एक राशिपर एक साथ आवेंगे उसी समय सत्ययुग का आरम्भ हो जायगा’(When the Moon, Sun and Jupiter will come together on one zodiac after being situated in Pushyanakshatra, at that time Satya Yuga will begin.)

Let’s talk about rebirth.


Hiranyakashipu, Ravana, and Shishupal are the incarnations of the same being.

Hiranyakashipu who was killed by Narsimha Bhagwan reincarnated as Ravana in the Treta Yuga.

Lord Narsimha killing Hiranyakashipu (Image Source- Google)

Ravana too was killed by Shri Ram in the Treta Yuga.

Again he reincarnated as Shishupal in the Dwapar Yuga.

Shishupal too was killed by Shri Krishna.

(Source for above information: Vishnu Puran)

Vasudev (Krishna’s father) and Dashrath (Ram’s father) were the same people. How?

– Swayambhu Manu worshiped Vishnu to please him. Pleased with his devotion, Shri Hari appeared before him. Lord asked him his wish. He (Swayambhu Manu) wanted to be the father of Shri Hari Vishnu three times.

Shri Hari agreed.

So, In the Treta Yuga, Swayambhu reincarnated in Raghukul as Dashrath. Vishnu Bhagwan was born to him as Shri Ram.

In the Dwapar Yuga, he reincarnated as Vasudev, Bhagwan Vishnu born to him as Shri Krishna.

In the Kali Yuga, He will be reincarnated as Hari Gupta, who will give birth to Kalki Avtar of Shri Hari Vishnu Bhagwan.

(Source for above information: Padma Puran)

We at KnowledgeMandir do not promote any religion or are not trying to create any misconception about any religious scriptures. we are trying to bring you some facts which we have never gone through. all the details in this article are as per the best knowledge of author actual fact may vary.

If you find any discrepancy with this content please contact us.

For reading such spiritual and factual articles please click here.

9 thoughts on “Interesting facts from Hindu Scriptures: You Must Know”

  1. Very articulated .
    I hope more like these insights will be written for general public as very few reads Vishnu Puran , Skand Puran , etc . So , these type of detailed facts are necessary be out in a simpler way like this .

  2. Pingback: The birth of Devatas, Daityas & The Maruts | KnowledgeMandir

  3. Pingback: कैसे मार्कण्डेय ऋषि को हुए थे श्री हरि के दर्शन? | KnowledgeMandir

  4. Pingback: कैसे मार्कण्डेय ऋषि को हुए थे श्री हरि के दर्शन ? | KnowledgeMandir

  5. Pingback: कैसे मार्कण्डेय ऋषि को हुए थे श्री हरि के दर्शन ? | KnowledgeMandir

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *